top of page

Edwardstown Baptist Group

Public·1 member

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West: A Contemporary YA Fiction with Humor and Romance


Kasie West The Fill In Boyfriend Epub 27: A Review




If you are looking for a sweet and funny contemporary romance novel, you might want to check out Kasie West's The Fill In Boyfriend. This book is about a girl who asks a stranger to pretend to be her date at her ex-boyfriend's prom, and how their fake relationship turns into something more. In this article, I will review the book and tell you why you should read it.




kasie west the fill in boyfriend epub 27



Introduction




What is the book about?




The Fill In Boyfriend is a young adult novel that was published in 2015 by HarperTeen. It is part of a series of standalone books by Kasie West that feature different characters and settings, but have similar themes and tones. The book follows the story of Gia Montgomery, a popular and perfect high school senior who has everything under control, except for her love life. When her boyfriend Bradley dumps her in the parking lot before prom, she panics and asks a random guy to be her fake date. The guy, who later introduces himself as Hayden, agrees to help her out, and they end up having a great time at prom. However, things get complicated when Gia's friends want to meet Hayden again, and Hayden's sister Bec wants Gia to be his real girlfriend.


Who is the author?




Kasie West is an American author who writes young adult and adult fiction. She is best known for her contemporary romance novels, such as The Distance Between Us, On the Fence, P.S. I Like You, and Love, Life, and the List. She also writes paranormal and dystopian novels, such as Pivot Point and Split Second. She lives in California with her husband and four children.


Why should you read it?




You should read The Fill In Boyfriend if you are a fan of cute and witty romance stories that will make you laugh and swoon. The book has likable and realistic characters, a fun and fast-paced plot, and a satisfying ending. It also explores some important themes, such as honesty, friendship, and self-discovery. It is a perfect book for anyone who loves contemporary YA fiction.


Plot summary




The main characters




The protagonist of the book is Gia Montgomery, a smart and beautiful girl who is the leader of her group of friends. She cares a lot about what others think of her, and she tries to maintain her perfect image at all costs. She has a passion for photography, but she doesn't share it with anyone. She also has a strained relationship with her parents, who are always busy and distant.


The love interest of the book is Hayden Parkes-Lewis, a charming and kind guy who goes to a different school than Gia. He has a sarcastic sense of humor, and he likes to tease Gia. He is loyal to his family and friends, especially his sister Bec, who has been through a lot. He has a talent for music, but he doesn't pursue it because of his past.


The fake relationship




The book begins with Gia being dumped by Bradley, her college boyfriend, who claims that she is too shallow and fake. Gia is devastated, not only because she liked Bradley, but also because she had promised her friends that she would bring him to prom. She doesn't want to lose face in front of them, especially Jules, who has always been jealous and suspicious of her. So, when she sees a cute guy waiting in his car in the parking lot, she asks him to be her fill in boyfriend for the night. The guy, who is actually there to pick up his sister from the same prom, agrees to help her out, on one condition: that she returns the favor by being his fake girlfriend at his ex-girlfriend's graduation party.


Gia and Hayden pretend to be a couple at prom, and they end up having a lot of fun. They dance, they talk, they kiss, and they even win the prom king and queen titles. They also learn a bit about each other's lives and personalities, and they feel a connection. However, they don't exchange phone numbers or real names, and they part ways after the night is over.


The real feelings




The next day, Gia regrets not getting Hayden's contact information, and she wonders if he feels the same way. She also faces some problems with her friends, who are curious about Hayden and want to meet him again. Jules, in particular, accuses Gia of lying about having a boyfriend, and threatens to expose her. Gia tries to find Hayden online, but she has no luck. She also tries to forget about him, but she can't.


Meanwhile, Hayden is also thinking about Gia, and he wants to see her again. He asks his sister Bec, who goes to the same school as Gia, to help him find her. Bec agrees, but she also has her own agenda. She wants Gia to be Hayden's real girlfriend, because she thinks that he needs someone to make him happy after his breakup with his ex-girlfriend Claire. Claire cheated on Hayden with his best friend Nick, and broke his heart. She also ruined his chances of getting a scholarship for music school.


Gia and Hayden eventually reunite at Claire's graduation party, where they pretend to be a couple again. They also agree to keep seeing each other as friends, and to help each other out with their respective problems. Gia introduces Hayden to her friends, and tries to prove that he is real. Hayden introduces Gia to his family and friends, and tries to move on from Claire. However, as they spend more time together, they start to develop real feelings for each other. They also start to open up about their secrets and insecurities, and they inspire each other to pursue their passions.


However, their relationship is not without challenges. They have to deal with the consequences of their lies, the interference of their exes, the expectations of their peers and families, and their own fears and doubts. They also have to decide whether they want to be more than friends or not.


Themes and messages




The importance of honesty




One of the main themes of the book is the importance of honesty in relationships. Gia and Hayden start their relationship based on a lie, and they have to face the repercussions of it later on. They also lie to themselves about their feelings for each other, and they have trouble expressing them. They learn that lying can hurt themselves and others, and that honesty can build trust and intimacy.


The power of friendship




Another theme of the book is the power of friendship in overcoming challenges and finding happiness. Gia and Hayden both have supportive friends who help them through their difficulties and encourage them to follow their dreams. Gia has Claire (not the same Claire as Hayden's ex), Lacey, and Nate (Lacey's boyfriend), who are loyal and caring towards her. Hayden has Spencer (Bec's boyfriend), Ian (Spencer's brother), and Kasey (Ian's girlfriend), who are fun and protective of him. They also become friends with each other's friends, and they form a close-knit group.


The value of self-discovery




Writing style and format




The humor and romance




One of the strengths of the book is the humor and romance that Kasie West infuses in her writing. The book is full of witty dialogue, hilarious situations, and adorable moments that will make you smile and laugh. The chemistry between Gia and Hayden is palpable, and their interactions are sweet and playful. The book also has some steamy scenes that will make you blush and swoon.


The alternating perspectives




Another strength of the book is the alternating perspectives that Kasie West uses to tell the story. The book is written in the first-person point of view, and it switches between Gia's and Hayden's chapters. This allows the reader to get to know both characters better, and to see their thoughts and feelings about each other and themselves. It also creates suspense and anticipation, as the reader wonders when and how they will confess their love to each other.


The epub 27 edition




The epub 27 edition of the book is a special version that was released in 2021 to celebrate the 27th birthday of Kasie West. It contains some bonus content that was not included in the original edition, such as deleted scenes, alternate endings, and author's notes. It also has some interactive features, such as quizzes, polls, and games that relate to the book. The epub 27 edition is a must-have for fans of Kasie West and The Fill In Boyfriend.


Conclusion




Summary of the main points




In conclusion, The Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie West is a delightful and engaging contemporary romance novel that will make you feel good. It has a fun and fast-paced plot, likable and realistic characters, and important themes and messages. It also has a humorous and romantic writing style, an alternating perspective format, and a special epub 27 edition.


Recommendation and rating




I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves contemporary YA fiction, especially romance lovers. I give this book a rating of 5 out of 5 stars, because it is one of my favorite books by Kasie West. It is a book that I can read over and over again, and never get bored of it.


FAQs Q: Where can I buy or download The Fill In Boyfriend by Kasie West? A: You can buy or download the book from various online platforms, such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Apple Books, Google Play Books, etc. Q: Is The Fill In Boyfriend a standalone book or part of a series? A: The Fill In Boyfriend is a standalone book, but it is part of a series of standalone books by Kasie West that feature different characters and settings, but have similar themes and tones. The other books in the series are The Distance Between Us, On the Fence, The Fill-In Boyfriend, P.S. I Like You, By Your Side, Lucky in Love, Love Life & the List. Q: Who are some other authors who write similar books to Kasie West? A: Some other authors who write similar books to Kasie West are Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, Morgan Matson, Jennifer E. Smith, etc. Q: What are some other books by Kasie West that I should read? A: Some other books by Kasie West that I should read are Pivot Point (a paranormal romance), Split Second (the sequel to Pivot Point), Listen to Your Heart (a romantic comedy), Maybe This Time (a time loop romance), Moment of Truth (a spy thriller), Sunkissed (a summer romance), etc. Q: What are some adaptations or fan works based on The Fill In Boyfriend? A: There are no official adaptations or fan works based on The Fill In Boyfriend yet, but there are some fan-made trailers on YouTube that you can watch. There are also some fanfictions on Wattpad that you can read. 71b2f0854b


About

Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...

About

Online

Communities

Opening Office
Hours

Ministries

Mon - Fri: 9am - 5pm

Address

   Dorene St & Rothesay Ave,

54C Dorene St, Saint Marys SA 5042

Social

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Vimeo
  • Youtube

Phone

8276 1040

bottom of page